My summer read list

DSC_0100 kopi.jpg

So it’s finally summer holiday and that means that many of us are going on vacation. We’re traveling out of the country, or traveling within the country or just staying at home. No matter what your plans are, there’s always time and space for a book or two, or in my case 6. I love to read and because of school, I don’t get to do it as much as I used to. School has me busy, so when summer vacation is here, this is the time that I normally catch up on all of the books that I supposed to have read through the last couple of months, or the ones that I decided to buy in a bookstore, or online. I love to go book shopping, and let’s face it, which book nerd doesn’t? It’s just so relaxing and you don’t need to stress. This summer I used about over one hour to pick my summer books.

Back in winter (December-January), I went to Australia too visit a friend and when I got there, it was summer (because Australia is on the other side of the world, from me). So naturally I bought two summer books. One that I read through out winter and spring, and one that I read in a week, in the start of this summer.

Because I’ve already read them, but bought them in summer, they’re going on this list. So that also means that out of the 6 books, I’ve only read two of them.


Sebastian Faulks – ”Where My Heart Used to Beat”

DSC_01-02.jpg

About the book: On a small island off the south coast of France, Robert Hendricks – an English doctor who has seen the best and the worst the twentieth century has to offer – is forced to confront the events that made up his life. His host is Alexander Pereira, a man who seems to know more about his guest than Hendricks himself does.

The search for the past takes us through the war in Italy in 1944, a passionate love that seems to hold out hope, the great days of idealistic work in the 1960s and finally – unforgettably – back into the trenches of the Western Front.

Reviews given to the book:

‘Compelling…Profoundly moving’ – Independent on Sunday 

‘A terrific novel, humming with ideas, knowing asides, shafts of sunlight, shouts of laughter and moments of almost unbearable tragedy’ – Sunday Telegraph 

‘A masterpiece’ – Sunday Telegraph 


Helena Coggan – ”The Catalyst”

DSC_0104 kopi.jpg

About the book: Rose Ellsworth has a secret. For eighteen years, the world has been divided into magically Gifted and non-magical Ashkind, but Rose’s identity is far more dangerous. At fifteen, she earned herself a place alongside her farther in the Department, a brutal law-enforcement organization run by the Gifted to control the Ashkind. But now an old enemy is threatening to start a catastrophic war, and Rose faces a challenging test of her loyalties.

How much does she really know about her farther’s past? How far is the Department willing to go to keep the peace? And, when the time comes, will Rose choose to protect her secret, or the people she loves?

Reviews given to the book:

‘A compelling, rich world of magic and danger’ – Claire North, author of The Fifteen Lives of Harry August

‘A pulsing, labyrinthise, emotionally visceral plot’ – Metro

‘A stunning debut, exploding with life, ideas and passion’ – Daily Mail 

‘Helena Coggan is only 15, and yet her debut novel has all the assurance of a writer in mid-stride. If young writers can overcome the stare of the plank page – and take care with characterization – they can stand as an inspiration to all’ – Daily Mail

My thoughts when I read the reviews was ‘wow’. I mean, written by an 15 y/o, I just had to buy it. I wanted to know how she could do that in that young of an age. Also on the front, it says ‘The year’s Divergent’ and I really enjoyed that series (the books, obviously). So I can’t wait to start with this one.


Charlotte Betts – ”The Chateau on the Lake”

DSC_01103 kopi.jpg

About the book: 1792. As a teacher at her parents’ Academy of Young Ladies in the heart of London, Madeleine Moreau has lived a sheltered life. But on the night of a dazzling Masquerade, tragedy strikes and she is left alone in the world. Desperate to find the family she never knew, Madeleine impulsively travels to France in search of them. But with war around the corner, and fearing for Madeleine’s safety, the enigmatic Comte Etienne d’Aubrey offers her protection at his home, Chateau Mirabelle.

Chateau Mirabelle enchants Madeleine with its startling beauty, but it is a place of dark and haunting secrets. As the Revolution gathers momentum and the passions of the populace are enflames, Madeleine must take control of her own destiny and unravel events in the past in order to secure a chance of future happiness.

Reviews given to the book:

The Chateau on the Lake is a breathtaking historical novel set during the time of the French Revolution; rich, evocative and immersive. If you love Philippa Gregory and Joanna Harris, you’ll adore Charlotte Betts.


Allen Wheelis – ”The Seeker”

'.jpg

I actually bought this book in a old book store and because it’s so old I could read about it at the back, so I read the first page and fell in love with his writing. This is the kind of books I really enjoy. I love old books, the language they used. Beautiful. It’s from 1960, and it’s the first print that I have.


Julia Williams – ”Midsummer Magic”

DSC_0102 kopi.jpg

Now this is one that I’ve already read. And I read it in one week. When I first started to read it, it was all very confusing. And I hate to stop in the middle of a book and not Finnish it. So I always do. It’s filled with drama and it’s a good quick read. And it’s perfect for romance lovers. Just a quick note, you follow a few characters, so if you have difficulties reading from more that one, or two peoples view, this is not for you.

About the book: Recently engaged Josie is visiting her parents in Cornwall with her best friend Diana, fiancé Harry and his best pal Ant.

As the four have a drink in the local pub, they encounter TV hypnotist Freddie Puck who convinces them to take part in a dare. Local mythology predicts that an evening by standing stones will lead to everlasting happiness. But as evening falls, not everyone seems to have remembered the boundaries of love…

Reviews given to the book:

‘The perfect summer read’ – Fiona Gibson

‘Terrifically warm, with lovely, lively characters’ – Fiona Walker 


Anthony Doerr – ”All The Light We Cannot See”

DSC_0103 kopi.jpg

This has absolutely been a favorite of mine. I really enjoyed reading this. If you enjoy historical novels, then this is for you. My favorite part, was the last 100 pages.

About the book: For Marie-Laure, blind since the age of six, the world is full of mazes. The miniature of a Paris neighborhood, made by her farther to teach her the way home. The microscopic layers within the invaluable diamond that her farther guards in the Museum of Natural History. The walled city by the sea, where father and daughter take refuge which draws her ever closer to Werner, a German orphan, destined to labour in the mines until broken radio fills his life with possibility and brings hime to the notice of the Hitler Youth.

In this magnificent, deeply moving novel, the stories of Marie-Laure and Werner illuminate the ways, against all odds, people try to be good to one another.

Reviews given to the book:

‘Epic… A bittersweet and moving novel that lingers in the mind’ – Daily Mail

‘A vastly entertaining feat of storytelling’ – New York Times

‘I’m not sure I will read a better novel this year… Enthrallingly told, beautifully written and so emotionally plangent that some passages bring tears’ – Washington Post’


So there you have it, my picks for this summers read list. I hope you enjoyed it and that maybe some of the books will give you inspiration.

Have a great summer,

xxx

Leave a Reply

