A lifetime of traveling

DSC_0715 kopi.jpg

Considering that I’m only nineteen, I’ve actually been a lot of places. Visited lots of cities, countries, continents, islands and experienced a lot of different cultures, and I’ve enjoyed all of it. There are of course still places, countries on my wish list, and continents I’ve never been too, but you’re not supposed to visit everything. Are you? Since I was a little girl, I’ve been out of Denmark at least 2-5 times a year. One year I even went to maybe 6 countries. I’ve never been only home in summer, I’ve always been away in the summer holiday. I’ve been most in Europe (where I live) and the Asia. I spend my 2016 Christmas in Australia for 3 weeks, visiting my dear friend.

Skærmbillede 2017-06-06 kl. 18.44.35

So I researched the internet for a website that helped you with making a map over all the countries you’ve visited. And as you can see I really have lots of grey left, especially in America, mainly because I’ve never been there. I do have Alaska on my wish list, so maybe one day I’ll go there.

Let's wander where the wifi is weak.

But let me break it down. I live in Copenhagen, which is the capital of Denmark. Denmark is a part of Scandinavia, placed in Europe.

I’ve always lived in Denmark (so far). It’s a little quite country, which I enjoy.

''My soul is from elsewhere, 
I'm sure of that,

I intend to end up there.''
- Rumi 

This summer I’m actually going to get a new country on my list – Hungary. I’m going to Budapest with my orchestra on a tour, plying different concert around the city.

I’m also going to Portugal with my mother. When I was younger, we visited Azores, but now we’re coming back for the mainland. I’m really looking forward to it.

‘’We travel for romance, we travel for architecture, and we travel to be lost’’

– Ray Bradbury

Stamps in my passport, divided in continents:

Europe:

  1. England
  2. Holland
  3. Germany
  4. Norway
  5. Sweden
  6. Iceland
  7. Ireland
  8. Northern Ireland (part of the UK)
  9. Finland
  10. Czech Republic
  11. Austria
  12. Spain
  13. France
  14. Greece
  15. Italy
  16. Latvia
  17. Portugal
  18. Malta
  19. Poland
  20. Lithuania
  21. Russia
  22. Turkey
  23. United Arabic Emirates

Asia:

  1. Malaysia
  2. Brunei
  3. Singapore
  4. Hong Kong
  5. Macau
  6. Indonesia

Africa:

  1. Egypt

Oceania:

  1. Australia

So yeah, so far I’ve been too 31 countries and I’m only starting. I must admit that it is quite lot, considering I’m only nineteen. And to tell the truth, I’m from a middleclass family. My mother just chooses to use our money on travelling, instead of giving me stuff every month. I didn’t get money every month, or money for when I was with friends. Not to make her sound awful, because she obviously gave me things and mostly love, but I’ve always been grateful for all the travelling.


Please comment where in the world you’ve been.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

